Select Page



President: Elizabeth Pletzer (

Vice President: TBD

Secretary: TBD

Treasurer: TBD

Faculty Adviser: Professor Miles Maguire (

Students with a writing/editing emphasis and those in broadcasting with an emphasis on news are encouraged to join the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ). It is part of a national organization of journalism professionals and students planning to go into news careers.

Its goals include fostering high ethical standards, safeguarding the free flow of information and recruiting talented young people to the profession. Students may attend national and regional meetings of the organization and other gatherings where professional-development seminars are offered.

Other benefits include a computerized job-matching service; a subscription to The Quill, a monthly magazine published by the society and a mentor program and other opportunities to network with professionals in their chosen field.

Meetings are held every other Monday (beginning Feb. 5, 2018) at 4:45 p.m. in Sage 3412.


2017-2018 SPJ Members

Left to right: Cody Barnes, Billy Piotrowski, Nikki Brahm, Elizabeth Pletzer, Morgan Van Lanen, Kennedy Corpus​