Faculty, Staff and Affiliates

NGMC Faculty


Mark Lattery, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor of Physics, NGMC Director
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

Mark Lattery received a Ph. D. degree in experimental particle physics and a M.Ed. in curriculum and instruction from the University of Minnesota/Twin Cities. He is Distinguished Professor of Physics, 2021 David Hestenes Award for Exceptional Contributions to Modeling Instruction recipient, and an American Modeling Teachers Association Executive Board Member. Lattery is also President of the Wisconsin Modeling Teaching Association and twice the President of the Wisconsin Association of Physics Teachers. He is an experimental particle physicist and a member of the PANDA Collaboration at FAIR. For excellence in teaching, Lattery was named UW-System Wisconsin Teaching Scholar and Wisconsin Teaching Fellow. Past professional positions include: President of the Director of the Modeling Physical Science program, Chair of the American Association of Physics Teachers Committee on the History and Philosophy of Physics, and Graduate Program Coordinator of the Masters of Science in Education (MSE) Physics Track program. He is also a frequent advisor to the National Science Foundation (NSF) panelist, having served the TUES, MSP, and STEM+C programs. His research interests include physics education, experimental particle physics, and the history and philosophy of science. The author of many peer-reviewed research articles, Dr. Lattery has published in such diverse journals as Physical Review Letters, The Physics Teacher, School Science and Mathematics, Physics Education, and Science & Education. Dr. Lattery  is author of the book, Deep Learning in Introductory Physics: Exploratory Studies of Model-Based Reasoning (Information Age Publishing, 2017).


Scott Hertting, M.S., NBCT, Instructional Faculty
Neenah High School

Scott Hertting received a Masters degree in physics education from the University of Wisconsin River Falls.  His Bachelor of Science degree is in chemistry from UW – LaCrosse. A 27-year veteran science educator, he currently teaches two levels of physics at Neenah High School utilizing the research based Modeling Method of Instruction.  Hertting earned National Board Certification in physics in 2003 and successfully recertified in 2013.  Other honors of distinction include the 2013 Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching (PAEMST), 2013 Kohl Fellowship and 2007 recipient of WSST’s Excellence in Science Education. Publications in The Physics Teacher include “Stunt Barbie” and “Energy Blocks”.  Hertting continues to serve as the contact person and meeting facilitator for the “Phox Valley Physics and Physical Science Share Group”; a professional learning community for physics and physical science teachers that he helped found in 2001.

College of Education and Human Services

Dr. Joshua Morris, Graduate Program Coordinator
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Department of Teaching and Learning

Advisory Panel Members

Peter Bohaeck
Physics Teacher and Consultant
Pivot Interactives
Henry Sibley High School
Mendota Heights, Minnesota

Jeffrey Elmer
Physics Teacher and Adjunct Professor
Badger High School
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin

Scott Hertting, NBCT
Physics Teacher and Adjunct Professor
Neenah High School
Neenah, Wisconsin

Trish Loeblein
Physics Teacher and Consultant
PhET Interactive Simulations
Boulder, Colorado

Terry Schwaller
Physics Teacher
Shiocton High School
Schiocton, Wisconsin

Matthew Vonk, Ph.D.
Physics Professor and Consultant
Pivot Interactives
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Edward Wyrembeck
Physics Teacher and Adjunct Professor
Howards Grove High School
Howards Grove, Wisconsin

University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

Physics & Astronomy

N. Halsey Science Center, Rm. 337
921 Elmwood Ave.


Department Chair

Dr. Carey Woodward


Administrative Assistant

Amy Martin


More contact information


Department Office Hours
In Person:
Monday 1–4:30
Tuesday 1–4:30
Thursday 8:00–12:30; 1:00–4:30
Friday 8:00–12:30; 1:00–4:30


Chair's Office Hours
Wednesday 11:50–1:20