Frequently Asked Questions

The University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents’ November decision to restructure the UW Colleges and join them with four-year comprehensive institutions ushers in an exciting and historic time for this Lake Winnebago Region, Northeast Wisconsin and the entire state. UW Oshkosh, UW-Fox Valley and UW-Fond du Lac have an opportunity, together, to grow a new and stronger institution: three campuses, one university*.

*Pending approval by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Why restructure campuses in the region?

The purpose of this restructure is to keep campuses open and expand access to higher education by leveraging the strength of four-year institutions like UW Oshkosh at a time when overall enrollments at UW Colleges are declining. The primary objectives of integrating UW Colleges with four-year and research institutions include:

  • Expanding access to higher education by offering more courses at the two-year campuses
  • Identifying and reducing barriers to transferring credits within the UW System
  • Maintaining affordability by continuing existing tuition levels post-integration for courses currently offered at the two-year institutions
  • Further standardizing and regionalizing administrative operations and services to more efficiently use resources
  • Leveraging resources and shared talent at our institutions to get more students into and through the educational pipeline successfully, better aligning the university to meet Wisconsin’s projected workforce needs

Does the restructuring call for closing any UW Colleges campus?

No, all campuses will remain open. The restructuring will allow the UW System to better address current and projected enrollment and financial challenges at the two-year institutions, while maintaining the important UW presence in local communities like Fond du Lac, Oshkosh, Menasha and throughout the Fox Valley.

Where should students apply if they are interested in attending institutions in the Lake Winnebago Region?

Students should continue to apply to the campus they wish to attend—UW Oshkosh, UW-Fox Valley or UW-Fond du Lac.

Two-year campuses are still offering the same academic courses and programs. Students can earn an associate degree or use those two years of general education credits to transfer into a four-year UW institution. Regardless of where a student begins their educational journey, the option to transfer all earned credits to any four-year UW university remains.

To apply to any of the three campuses in the Lake Winnebago region, visit and select a campus. All three campuses are admitting students for fall 2018. In addition to the online application, all other necessary components (transcripts, etc.) should still be sent directly to the school students are applying to. Students should contact the campus they wish to attend with questions.

What can be expected of tuition rates?

The tuition for each of the three campuses in the Lake Winnebago region will remain the same for students who are starting classes in the fall of 2018. Access and affordability of all three campuses during the restructure process is a priority.

The financial aid process remains unchanged. Students should apply for financial aid at the school they wish to attend.

When will the restructuring go into effect?

Still pending the approval of the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the restructuring proposal was approved by the Board of Regents in November 2017, and UW System and local campuses are now proceeding with planning and implementation. The proposal calls for the restructure to go into effect on July 1, 2018.

UW Oshkosh, UW-Fox Valley and UW-Fond du Lac students, faculty and staff are working to develop a synchronized process and work groups to locally help make many decisions and complete numerous restructuring tasks. In time, this collaborative work will deliver UW Oshkosh, UW-Fox Valley and UW-Fond du Lac to an ultimate goal and destination: three campuses, one university.

What will the name of the campuses in the Lake Winnebago Region be after July 1, 2018?

All three institutions in the Lake Winnebago region will keep their same name in the immediate future.

Campus name changes would require (1) Board of Regents approval, (2) UW must remain in the campus name, (3) stakeholders must have a voice in the process, specifically with county/city that has a collaborative MOU with the campus, (4) receiving institutions must hold focus groups to hear input from community stakeholders and prospective customers.