Select Page

Alejandra Mendoza

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh College of Letters and Science Equity, Diversity and Inclusive Climate (EDIC) committee has named two students as the winners of the I-RISE Awards for the month of December.

The winners are:

  • Alejandra Mendoza, a senior nursing major from Verapaz, El Salvador on the Oshkosh campus
  • Zackary Slick, a senior special education major from Appleton who started on the Fox Cities campus and is now in Oshkosh

The monthly I-RISE Awards—named for resilience, inspiration, strength and excellence—applaud UW Oshkosh students who have demonstrated resilience in the face of adversity, yet continue to advocate for equity, diversity and inclusion on the Oshkosh, Fond du Lac and Fox Cities campuses.

Zackary Slick

Do you know a student who has overcome adversity and continues to advocate for a more equitable and inclusive campus environment? The EDIC committee is now accepting nominations for the January I-RISE Awards. Submissions are due by 5 p.m. Feb. 25.

Learn more: