Select Page

Two University of Wisconsin Oshkosh science professors from the Fox Cities campus have been selected as 2022–23 Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars.

Jessica Brandt

UW System announced this week that UW Oshkosh biologist Jessica Brandt and geologist Beth Johnson were among those named to participate in the program.

Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars must demonstrate excellent teaching skills and have a curiosity about student learning to be nominated by provosts. The yearlong program begins in late May and will culminate with a research presentation at the annual Spring Conference on Teaching and Learning in Madison.

“Drs. Brandt and Johnson epitomize the outstanding faculty that UWO has across its three campuses, and especially the depth of interest that these two professors hold in examining how their students learn and use their knowledge in and out of the classroom,” said Martin Rudd, UWO’s assistant chancellor for access campuses. “At our institutional and system level, faculty are encouraged, through programs such as the Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars program, to continually consider their approaches to meaningful teaching whether in an early or mid-stage of their careers.”

The teaching program provides UW faculty and teaching academic staff a unique opportunity to collaborate with other exceptional teachers from across the UW System and from various disciplines. In addition to discussing influential literature, participants are guided through systematic research focused on improving student learning through a Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) project, the 22nd year of this format.

Beth Johnson

The Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars is one of three signature programs offered by the UW System’s Office of Professional and Instructional Development (OPID). OPID supports UW System’s 13 Centers for Teaching and Learning in fostering a culture of teaching and learning excellence in Wisconsin. Together they offer professional development programs that ensure student learning in face-to-face, online and blended learning environments.

The program is directed by two faculty leaders, Valerie Barske, a history professor at UW-Stevens Point and Heather Pelzel, a biology professor at UW-Whitewater.

Additional 2022–23 Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars are:

  • Sarita Mizin, UW-Eau Claire, feminist theory, medical humanities, nineteenth-century literature
  • Kaia Simon, UW-Eau Claire, literacy, multilingual writers, feminisms, rhetoric and composition
  • Clifton Ganyard, UW-Green Bay, humanistic studies
  • Michelle McQuade Dewhirst, UW-Green Bay, music
  • Valerie Krage, UW-La Crosse, early childhood education
  • Kristina LaPlant, UW-La Crosse, American political behavior
  • Taylor Cole Miller, UW-La Crosse, media studies
  • Kim Omachinski, UW-Milwaukee, intercultural/cross-cultural Ccmmunication
  • Rebeccah MacKinnon, UW-Parkside, mathematics
  • Catherine Mossman, UW-Parkside, biology
  • Shannon Prince, UW-Parkside, education
  • Douglas Selent, UW-Platteville, software engineering
  • Irfan UI-Haq, UW-Platteville, mathematics
  • Rebecca Haley, UW-River Falls, chemistry
  • Chris Hergenrader, UW-River Falls, companion animal science
  • James Berry, UW-Stevens Point, linguistics
  • Jess Bowers, UW-Stevens Point, social work
  • Saemyi Park, UW-Stevens Point, American politics
  • Ann Oberding, UW-Stout, art education
  • Kim Zagorski, UW-Stout, political science/international studies
  • Cherie Dakota, UW-Superior, social work
  • Amanda Zbacnik, UW-Superior, special education
  • Ken Brosky, UW-Whitewater, English
  • Narendra Regmi, UW-Whitewater, macroeconomics, international trade, economic growth

Learn more: