Select Page

Zachary Mersberger has been named the outstanding senior majoring in finance by the Milwaukee Chapter of the FEI (Financial Executives International) and Jonathan Dudzinski is the recipient of the 2011 FEI Milwaukee Chapter’s Roger Buchholz Memorial Scholarship Award, an extremely competitive award for finance majors in the state of Wisconsin. Both Zachary and Jonathan were recognized on April 12.

Tera Malinski, information technology programmer, has been named the recipient of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh STAR Award for April 2011.

UW Oshkosh Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) members Sarah Hartwell, Courtney Rinka, Kristen Manders and Heather Wade received an honorable mention in a national case study competition sponsored by PRSSA.

The UW Oshkosh Faculty Senate presented Chancellor Richard H. Wells with a commendation acknowledging his leadership during another challenging biennial budgetary planning period.

The Children’s Center received $400.00 in donations to be used to purchase children’s books and equipment. Janet Steward won an autographed Green Bay Packer Football from the Children’s Center book sale.

Four UW Oshkosh alumnae have been recognized by Wisconsin State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers with a “Standing Up for Rural Wisconsin Schools, Libraries, and Communities” Award. Developed by Jamie Bartol ’08, Penny Graham ’08, Jen Kouba ’08, and Kelley Thrasher’ 08, the “We Are More than a Flesh Colored Crayon” curriculum was designed to reflect the changes in their rural community.

UW Oshkosh has received a grant of up to $3,200,000 from the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Health Care Access and Accountability for DHS Income Maintenance. Pat Nichols, CCDET, is the project director.

There were four UW Oshkosh students who submitted original work and were accepted to attend and present at the annual American Multicultural Student Leadership Conference (AMSLC) held at UW-Platteville April 1-3. Presentation honors went to Janice Thor, Mao Vang, Bryan Moua and Gabrielle DuBois.

UW Oshkosh has received $54,988 from University of Wisconsin System for Expanding Prior Learning Assessment at UW Oshkosh. This initiative is made possible with support from the Lumina Foundation for Education to the UW System. Ruth Freiburger, Adult Nontraditional Student Resource Office, is the project director.

The UWO men’s volleyball team went 9-0 over the course of three days to win its third Division I collegiate club national title at the National Collegiate Volleyball Federation championship, held April 7-9 in Houston, Texas.

UWO faculty member Richard Kalinoski’s full length play “Beast on the Moon” has been installed as part of the distinguished Tallinn City Theatre’s ongoing repertory of plays. Tallinn City Theatre is in Tallinn, Estonia and is one of the leading theatres of Europe.

Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today.