Select Page

’72 Joe Sosa (LS) and ’78 (MSE), of Katy, Texas, retired after 42 years of teaching special education in public schools, starting his career at Oshkosh North High School.

’73 Catharine (Bruning) Linhart (LS), of Grafton, and Richard Linhart celebrated 50 years of marriage.

’76 Richard Van Dyke (LS), of Cincinnati, Ohio, is the keyboard area coordinator at Northern Kentucky University. Van Dyke performed a piano concert in his native Kaukauna in April.

’79 Mary Bergin (LS), of Madison, published her sixth book, Small-Town Wisconsin: Fun, Surprising and Exceptional Road Trips, featuring 50 communities with populations under 5,000. Bergin is a four-time recipient of the Lowell Thomas Award, the highest national recognition for travel journalists.

’79 Greg Peck (LS), of Janesville, published his third book, Snakes, Squirrels & Bears, Oh My! Finding Humor Amid Life’s Frustrations. Peck retired from the Janesville Gazette in 2016.

’81 Sandy (Ryba) Matuszak (N), of Green Bay, retired from active nursing and works full time as a long-term substitute health teacher at Pulaski High School.

’85 Mary Schommer-Loney (EHS), of Bonduel, is a violinist with the Civic Symphony of Green Bay.

’85 Joy Smith (LS), of Lakeland, Florida, is writing two novels, Velvet of Swords and a new edition of Strike Three.

’86 Karen Gibson (EHS) and ’90 (MA), of Menasha, released her fourth novel, Laurel Lake Remembers.

’93 Kristin (Kocian) Weinstock (LS), of Deforest, completed an alternative pathway to become a licensed teacher, certified to teach first through eighth grade.

’94 John Buelow (B), of Fond du Lac, president of Mercury Marine, was elected to the National Exchange Bank & Trust Board of Directors. Buelow is married to ’95 Kristine (Kebble) Buelow (EHS) and ’00 (MS).

’98 Luke Whitburn (LS), of Waunakee, is vice president of people operations at Inner Circle Autism Network. Whitburn has 25 years of experience in senior leadership roles in talent acquisition and human resources.

’99 Barbara Beuscher (LS) and ’18 (MBA), of Fairview, Pennsylvania, is joining ThedaCare as chief philanthropy officer and senior vice president where she will lead the ThedaCare Family of Foundations. Beuscher was formerly the vice president of advancement at Gannon University.

’02 Amy (Ceretto) Levonian (LS), of Oak Creek, is the principal at Burlington High School.

’03 Deanne (Bahti) Koll (LS), of Roberts, is an attorney at Bakke Norman, S.C. Koll was elected treasurer of the State Bar of Wisconsin and is married to ’06 Kyle Koll (LS).

’04 Michelle Gross (LS), of West Allis, is a project coordinator for the CREATE Institute at Milwaukee School of Engineering.

’05 David Diekelman (MBA), of Stevens Point, is the national sales director east for Willamette Falls Paper Company. Diekelman has over 30 years of experience in the paper industry.

Sarah Schettle ’08

’06 Eric Slee (LS), of Springfield, Virginia, is a senior professional staff member for the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry. Slee was formerly the vice president of government affairs at WISPA.

’08 Sarah Schettle (LS) and ’20 (MBA), of Rochester, Minnesota, a physician assistant in the Department of Cardiovascular Surgery at Mayo Clinic, received the Recognition of Outstanding Contribution Award from the Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences Alumni Association. The award recognizes alumni who have made exceptional contributions in clinical care, research, mentoring and education, or humanitarian endeavors.

’09 Kristen (Siebold) Chaudoir (EHS), of Kewaunee, is a team lead and account manager with Robertson Ryan & Associates. Chaudoir is married to ’03 David Chaudoir (EHS).

’10 Jennifer Le Clair-Bemis (B), of Sheboygan, is vice president of Baird’s Le Clair-Bemis Miller Davis Group. Le Clair-Bemis assists clients with investment strategy, financial and estate planning, and tax efficiency analysis.

’12 Samantha Anderson (LS), of Suamico, is the program coordinator for the Wisconsin Caregiver Academy at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. Anderson has worked for the Academy for six years.

’13 Marissa Reynolds (LS), of Wausau, married ’15 Kyle Birling (EHS). The alumni met while students on the UWO campus. Reynolds is an attorney and serves as assistant corporation counsel for Marathon County.

’15 Justine Braun (LS), of Green Bay, is the school and community relations specialist for Green Bay Area Public Schools. Braun was previously a video production specialist for the City of De Pere. Braun also serves on the UW Oshkosh Alumni Association board of directors.

’15 Clarinda Calling Thunder (EHS), of Fort Washakie, Wyoming, is a program administrator for the Northern Arapaho Tribe.

’15 Kyle Ellefson (MPA), of Columbus, is the Village of Johnson Creek’s administrator. Ellefson held this same position from 2016-2020 and was most recently the administrator for the City of Kewaunee.

’15 Katelyn Winkel Simmerman (EHS) and ’19 (MSE), of Elkhart Lake, a teacher at Cedar Grove-Belgium Middle School, was one of five teachers to be awarded the 2023 Wisconsin Teacher of the Year Award. Winkel Simmerman also received the Herb Kohl Fellowship for excellence and innovation in the classroom.

Blair Braun ’18

’15 Jesse Smith (B), of Oshkosh, is the director of ticket sales for the Wisconsin Herd, the 2022-23 NBA G League Franchise of the Year.

’16 Jeremy Dyken (LS), of Oshkosh, is the director of application and product development , formerly known as e-business, at Fox World Travel where he has been employed for 19 years.

’17 Rose Filipiak (N), of Oshkosh, is a critical care transport nurse with Gold Cross Ambulance Service. Filipiak assists with education for the critical care team and enjoys the autonomy of her role.

’18 Blair Braun (LS), of Neenah, is an assistant professor of psychology at UW-Platteville following her graduation with her doctorate in psychological science from Kent State University.

’19 Kayla (Ammon) Fischer (LS), of Little Chute, is a community outreach and public relations specialist at Scheels.

’19 Trevor Kroll (B), of Oshkosh, is the group sales manager for the Wisconsin Herd, the 2022-23 NBA G-League Franchise of the Year.

’21 Paige Paulick (AS) of Oshkosh, is an inside sales associate with Girbau North America, a commercial laundry equipment manufacturer.

’22 Mallory Knight (LS), of Neosho, is a graphic designer for the Wisconsin Herd, the 2022-23 NBA G-League Franchise of the Year.