Select Page

The following Class Notes were received recently in the UW Oshkosh Alumni Office.

’69 Tom Hewitt (LS) and his wife, Becky, annually have a float and group of kids entered in the Christmas Light Parade and Fiesta Bowl in Phoenix, Ariz. They credit their float building and musical training to their days in college — Tom as a music minor and Becky as a UW-Madison art major. They also host the cheer, pom, tall flags competition for the Fiesta Bowl celebration. 12-1-08

’69 John Schuh (LS), Distinguished Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies at Iowa State University, recently received the Research Achievement Award from the Association for the Study of Higher Education. He also received his second Fulbright recognition, this time being named to the Fulbright Specialists’ list. 12-1-08

’73 Gregg Ebert (EHS) was inducted into the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame on October 18, 2008. He spent 28 years coaching at Necedah High School. 12-1-08

’73 Dan Sigurslid (EHS) was inducted into the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame on October 18, 2008 after 32 years of coaching women’s basketball in Markesan schools. 12-1-08

’76 Richard Van Dyke (LS) was elected to a two year term as Vice President in charge of Student Activities for the Ohio Music Teachers Association. He will be performing works by J.S. Bach, Beethoven, Brahms and Debussy at a solo recital at Northern Kentucky University on January 23, 2009. 12-1-08

’77 Eileen (Nosko) Lukes (N) received a doctorate in epidemiology from the University of Arizona, thirty one years after graduating from UW-Oshkosh! 12-1-08

’81 Karen (Ball) Bleach (B) is the chief financial officer of Advanced Waste Services, Inc. in West Allis per an article in The Business Journal. 12-1-08

’81 Tim McKeag (B) and ’83 (MBA) is the senior vice president, commercial market manager for Johnson Bank-Fox Cities. He also serves as a board member for the Outagamie County Housing Authority and as an advisory board member for the UW Oshkosh College of Business. 12-1-08

’83 Carol Rafferty (MSN) recently joined the Brain, Spine and Pain Center at Bellin Health in Green Bay. 12-1-08

’90 Stephanie (Jung) Bixler (N) is a wound care specialist at Marshfield Clinic Rice Lake Center. 12-1-08

’90 Lisa (Krueger) Pugh (LS) has been awarded the annual Parent Public Policy Fellowship from the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation. In January 2009, she will be working from Washington, DC. 12-1-08

’91 Gayle Hoeper (LS) is exhibiting her large acrylic paintings in her first gallery show at the Icon Art Gallery in Phoenix, Ariz. 12-1-08

’91 Sean Jones (LS) is national director of network operations at Corphealth overseeing provider and facility contracting, credentialing, and provider relations. 12-1-08

’94 Mark Hilliker (MBA) is the chief operations officer at Community Care of Central Wisconsin. 12-1-08

’95 Mary Larson (B) is the safety manager at Suburban Electrical Contractors/Engineers. The company won the Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award three times: in 2002 when she was the safety coordinator, and consecutively in 2007 and 2008. Larson also serves as the 2008 chairperson on Associated Builders and Contractors of the Wisconsin Safety Committee. 12-1-08

’96 Lucy (Bean) Runnells (MPA) is the chief financial officer at Community Care of Central Wisconsin. 12-1-08

’98 Sarah (Heckmann) Ferge (EHS) serves as a community member of The Post-Crescent editorial board through December. 12-1-08

’00 Robert Cleiss MBA is a controller for the National Association of Tax Professionals. 12-1-08

’01 Marie (Martin) Flanagan (LS) has self-published her first book of poetry, titled “Fresh Breath.” The book is described as a gutsy work of original, free verse poetry. Flanagan teamed up with graphic artist, ’96 Sara Jolin (LS) to create a graphically inspiring book combining poetry and graphic design. 12-1-08

’02 Derek Thomas (LS) is sergeant of police with the Eau Claire Police Department.

’04 Abigail Sorensen (LS) received a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree from the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. 12-1-08

’06 Michele (Sankey) Green (EHS) and her husband, Joe Green, welcomed a daughter, Ashlyn Mae, on Oct. 9, 2008. 12-1-08

’06 Robyn Meyers (LS) won the Bill Ferrell Scholarship at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. She also received the Dean Weber Scholarship. 12-1-08

’07 Jantira Thomas (LS) has been accepted to the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine. 12-1-08



• B — Business
• EHS — Education and Human Services
• LS — Letters and Science
• N — Nursing
• AD — Associate Degree


• MA — Master of Arts
• MBA— Master of Business Administration
• MS — Master of Science
• MSE — Master of Science in Education
• MSN — Master of Science in Nursing
• MPA — Master of Public Administration
• MST — Master of Science in Teaching

To access stories that appeared in previous issues of Alumni eNews prior to April 8, visit

Send items for future Class Notes at