Select Page

An evening of athletic achievements, academic accomplishments and community service was celebrated when the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh athletics department hosted the second-annual Oshcars Monday, April 29, at the Grand Opera House in Oshkosh.

The event saw UW Oshkosh student-athletes from all 19 sports as well as coaches, support staff and administrators come together in a historic Oshkosh venue.

Student-athletes introduced the awards and announced the award winners. The 19 awards ranged from Picture of the Year to Individual Performance of the Year to the announcement of the John Taylor Senior Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

A total of 94 senior student-athletes will conclude their athletic eligibility during the 2018-2019 academic year and 21 of them own a cumulative grade-point average of 3.50 or higher. This year’s senior class also features 66 four-year letter winners.

The emcee for the evening was Michael Patton, a professor in the College of Business, who also serves as the public address announcer at UW-Oshkosh home sporting events. 

2019 Oshcars Award Recipients

Picture of the Year: Men’s Basketball

Female Newcomer of the Year: Emily Gilot, Women’s Gymnastics

Male Newcomer of the Year: Jonathan Wilburn, Men’s Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field

Team Grade Point Average Award: Women’s Basketball

Resilience Award: Chloe Pustina, Women’s Basketball

Female Black and Gold Award: Amira Ali, Women’s Gymnastics

Male Black and Gold Award: Corey Knudsen, Wrestling

UW Oshkosh Athletics Appreciation Award: Michael Patton, UW-Oshkosh Public Address Announcer

Single Individual Female Performance of the Year: Jessica Bernardo, Women’s Gymnastics

Single Individual Male Performance of the Year: Jack Flynn, Men’s Basketball

Female Team Performance of the Year: Women’s Basketball

Male Team Performance of the Year: Men’s Basketball

Titan Give Back Award: Christian Lopez, Men’s Track Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field

Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year: Isabella Samuels, Women’s Basketball and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field

Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year: Jack Flynn, Men’s Basketball and Men’s Outdoor Track and Field

Phyllis Roney Senior Coaches Award: Chloe Pustina, Women’s Basketball

Jim Flood Senior Coaches Award: Ian Sewell, Men’s Swimming and Diving

John Taylor Female Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Abby Menting, Women’s Softball and Kayla Priebe, Women’s Golf

John Taylor Male Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Ben Boots, Men’s Basketball and Turner Geisthardt, Football

Learn more: