Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh’s chapter of the National Broadcasting Society swept the regional awards this year, winning 14 out of the 25 honors given.

The awards were presented Oct. 27 during the National Broadcasting Society’s regional conference. Last year the UW Oshkosh chapter earned three grand prizes.

“Winning the awards is not only an honor for the students, but the University as well,” said Kendra Sohm, public relations director for the chapter. “It shows that we have professional equipment, faculty that are teaching us what we need to know and students who are willing to work hard towards their goal.”

In addition to receiving nine awards for audio and video productions, four students received individual honors. Teri Barr was named Regional Professional of the Year; Josh Nelson was named Alumni Coordinator of the Year; Kendra Sohm was named Communications Coordinator of the Year; and Jake Timm was named Member of the Year.

Additionally, the UW Oshkosh chapter was honored as the Most Improved Chapter.

Recipients of the audio and video production awards included:

  • Ryan Aschacker and Brad Williams for Best Audio Sports Play-by-Play;
  • Adam Boucher and Mike Heyer for Best Comedy Program;
  • Jason Gordon, Josh Nelson and Ryan Wing for Best Video Sports Segment;
  • Mike Heyer for Best Comedy Program Script;
  • D.J. Kast, Greg Ritter and Nic Thorson for Best Video Program Opener;
  • Cole Kleinschmit, Kyla Morris, Bryce Scherer, Brenton Thom and Nic Thorson for Best Video Drama Program;
  • Josh Nelson, Jake Timm, Ryan Wing and Ben Zblewski for Best Video Sports Play-by-Play;
  • J.P. Russell for Best Music Video; and
  • Kendra Sohm and Ben Zblewski for Best Video News Feature Package.

Finally, Mike Steele received an honorable mention for Web design.

For more information about the UW Oshkosh chapter of the National Broadcasting Society, visit