Select Page

2016 Football SeniorsThe University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Russ Young Leadership and Achievement Football Banquet has been set for Sunday, Feb. 19, at the Oshkosh Convention Center. The program and lunch will begin at 1:30 p.m. with a social hour beginning at 12:30 p.m.

The banquet–in its ninth year–is open to the public. Tickets are $45 per person and tables of 10 may be purchased for $400.

The afternoon event will honor the 2016 Titans and their senior class, along with Ryan Hinske ’00 and ’04 (MSE), this year’s Russ Young Leadership and Achievement Award honoree. They Russ Young award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated the ideals of Young’s legacy through their record of accomplishments in their career or cause, community involvement, moral character and positive contributions to the world of sports.

Burke Griffin ’95, UW Oshkosh alumnus and sports director with WFRV-TV5 in Green Bay, will be the guest host.

Those looking to secure tickets can click here to download the registration form. All registrations forms should be returned to Kolf Sports Center, c/o Football, 800 Algoma Blvd., by Monday, Feb. 13.

For those unable to attend, there also is an opportunity to sponsor a student-athlete’s dinner. A donation of any size will help offset the cost of the student-athletes. The registration form includes a field for a donation.

The Titans had an exciting ride in 2016–not soon to be forgotten. They reached the NCAA Division III Football Championship for the first time in school history. The Titans  finished the regular season with a 6-1 record and second in the WIAC, earning their third-ever berth into the football championship as an at-large bid.

UWO rattled off post-season wins over Washington University, Saint John’s University and the University of St. Thomas before hosting John Carroll University in the semifinal round. A hard fought victory over the Blue Streaks catapulted the Titans to their inaugural Alonzo Stagg Bowl appearance. The most successful season in UW-Oshkosh football history concluded with a 10-7 setback to the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas). The Titans ended the year with a 13-2 mark.

For more information, email John Morelli ’87, the League of Titans Football president, at

Learn more: