Select Page
Header Image Group of Individuals Embracing

Safety & Equity at UWO

Contact

Sean Fay
Interim Title IX Coordinator
(920) 424-0835
titleix@uwosh.edu
Dempsey Hall 337
Oshkosh Campus
Monday-Friday 7:45 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

Title IX Teams

To ensure compliance with Federal, State, Board of Regent and University policies, UW Oshkosh has a Title IX Coordinator. The Title IX Coordinator is the employee designated by the University to coordinate and monitor the University’s compliance efforts. The Title IX Coordinator oversees monitoring of University policy and processes in relation to Title IX law developments, including investigation and disposition of Title IX formal complaints. The Title IX Coordinator ensures training is provided for all Title IX personnel who are conducting any part of the grievance process as well as the greater campus community (employees and students).

Training for Title IX personnel is provided by University and UW System membership in the State University of New York Student Conduct Institute and is posted at the bottom of this page, as required by law.

Anyone may contact the Title IX Coordinator to report sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment, sexual assault, domestic or dating violence, stalking, and/or sexual exploitation. After a report is received, the Title IX Coordinator will set up an interview with the individual named as the victim/survivor in the report to get more information, provide support  and resources, and go over options; including the option to file a formal complaint.

Title IX Coordinator

The Title IX Coordinator is the employee designated by the University to coordinate and monitor the University’s compliance efforts. The Title IX Coordinator oversees monitoring of University policy and processes in relation to Title IX law developments, including investigation and disposition of Title IX complaints. The Title IX Coordinator also ensures training is provided for all Title IX personnel who are conducting any part of the grievance process, as required by law.

Contacting the Title IX Coordinator to make a report of Title IX sexual misconduct, or submitting a report on-line, will initiate a prompt, compassionate response with supportive and/or protective measures. Making a report is not the same as filing a formal Title IX complaint and does not trigger a formal grievance or conduct procedure. After a report is made, the Title IX Coordinator will set up an interview with the individual named in the report to get more information, provide support and resources, and go over options; including the option to file a formal complaint.

Sean Fay Headshot

Sean Fay

Interim Title IX Coordinator & Director of Equal Opportunity, Equity, Affirmative Action

Phone: (920) 424-0330
Email: fays@uwosh.edu

Office of Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity & Affirmative Action
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 337

Title IX Compliance Team

While compliance with the law and campus safety is everyone’s shared responsibility at UWO, this team will have primary responsibility to ensure compliance with Title IX.

Shawna Kuether

Associate Vice Chancellor Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity, & Affirmative Action

Phone: (920) 424-0283
Email: kuethers@uwosh.edu

Office of Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity & Affirmative Action
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 328

Erin Grisham Headshot

Erin Grisham

Vice Chancellor Student Affairs

Phone: (920) 424-4000
Email: grishame@uwosh.edu
 
Student Affairs Office
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 148

Title IX Personnel 

Title IX personnel serve an integral function in supporting the work of the Compliance Office among various constituencies and across campuses. 

Patricia Schrader Headshot

Patricia Schrader

Human Resources Generalist

Phone: (920) 424-1536
Email: schraderp@uwosh.edu

Office of Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity & Affirmative Action 
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 328

Holly Shea

Deputy Chief Human Resources Officer

Phone: (920) 424-0750
Email: sheah@uwosh.edu

Office of Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity & Affirmative Action 
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 328

Buzz Bares

Interim Dean of Students

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: baresj@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 125

John Palmer

Assistant Dean of Students

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: palmerj@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 125

kiersten karlsen headshot

Kiersten Karlsen

Assistant Dean of Students

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: karlsenk@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 125

houa xiong headshot

Houa Xiong

Assistant Dean of Students

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: xiongh@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
Dempsey Hall Room 125

Title IX Committee

The Title IX committee at UWO meets once per month to discuss policy implementation and revision, assess the effectiveness of campus wide training and educational programming, and identify and address campus climate issues.

 

NAMETITLEE-MAILTELEPHONE
Sean FayInterim Title IX Coordinator, Director EOEAAfays@uwosh.edu(920) 424-0330
Shawna KuetherAssociate Vice Chancellor HR/EOEAAkuethers@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1166
Patricia SchraderHuman Resource Generalistschraderp@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1536
Holly SheaDeputy Chief Human Resources Officersheah@uwosh.edu(920) 424-0750
Erin GrishamVice Chancellor Student Affairsgrishame@uwosh.edu(920) 424-4000
John PalmerAssistant Dean of Studentspalmerj@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3100
Kiersten KarlsenAssistant Dean of Studentskarlsenk@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3100
Lori Develice CollinsDirector of Residence Lifedevelice@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3212
Chris TarmannActing Chief, University Policetarmannc@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1212
Leah FolksDirector of Counseling Centerfolksl@uwosh.edu(920) 424-2061
Nathan ScottDirector, Student Recreation & Wellness Centerscottn@uwosh.edu(920) 424-2064
Byron AdamsInterim AVC Academic Support of Inclusive Excellenceadamsb@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1873
Abby GildernickAssociate Director of Athleticsgildercika@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1384
Angela HawleyDirector, Student Health Centerhawleya@uwosh.edu(920) 424-2424

Title IX Personnel Training Information

Office for Civil Rights 2020 New Regulations state the following:

  • Title IX personnel need to be unbiased and free from conflicts of interest.
  • Title IX personnel include the Title IX Coordinator, any investigator, any decision-maker, and any person who facilities an informal resolution.

All materials used to train Title IX personnel:

  • Must not rely on sex stereotypes.
  • Must promote impartial investigations and adjudications of formal complaints of sexual harassment.
  • Must be maintained by the school for at least 7 years.
  • Must be publicly available on the school’s website.

For the purpose of compliance with section 106.45 of the Title IX Final Rules, the UW System Title IX Coordinator, investigators, decision-makers and any person who facilitates an informal resolution process in Title IX compliance and practices are required to take the State University of New York (SUNY) training. You can view this training, here. (https://system.suny.edu/sci/postedtraining/)