Select Page
Header Image Group of Individuals Embracing

No one is alone at UWO!

Contact

Amy Andersen, Title IX Coordinator
(920) 424-0835
andersena@uwosh.edu
Dempsey Hall 337
800 Algoma Blvd., Oshkosh Campus
Monday-Friday 7:45 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

 

Title IX Teams

To ensure compliance with Federal, State, Board of Regent and University policies, the Office of Equal Opportunity, Equity & Affirmative Action has a Title IX Coordinator. The Title IX Coordinator is the employee designated by the University to coordinate and monitor the University’s compliance efforts. The Title IX Coordinator oversees monitoring of University policy and processes in relation to Title IX law developments, including investigation and disposition of Title IX formal complaints. The Title IX Coordinator ensures training is provided for all Title IX personnel who are conducting any part of the grievance process as well as the greater campus community (employees and students).

Training for Title IX personnel is provided by University and UW System membership in the State University of New York Student Conduct Institute and is posted at the bottom of this page, as required by law.

Anyone may contact the Title IX Coordinator or a Deputy to report sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment, sexual assault, domestic or dating violence, stalking, and/or sexual exploitation. After a report is received, the Title IX Coordinator or Deputy will set up an interview with the individual named as the victim/survivor in the report to get more information, provide support  and resources, and go over options; including the option to file a formal complaint.

Title IX Coordinator

The Title IX Coordinator is the employee designated by the University to coordinate and monitor the University’s compliance efforts. The Title IX Coordinator oversees monitoring of University policy and processes in relation to Title IX law developments, including investigation and disposition of Title IX complaints. The Title IX Coordinator also ensures training is provided for all Title IX personnel who are conducting any part of the grievance process, as required by law.

Contacting the Title IX Coordinator or a Deputy to make a report of Title IX sexual misconduct, or submitting a report on-line, will initiate a prompt, compassionate response with supportive and/or protective measures. Making a report is not the same as filing a formal Title IX complaint and does not trigger a formal grievance or conduct procedure. After a report is made, the Title IX Coordinator or Deputy will set up an interview with the individual named in the report to get more information, provide support and resources, and go over options; including the option to file a formal complaint.

Amy Andersen
Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-0835
Fax: (920) 424-0448
Email: andersena@uwosh.edu

Equal Opportunity, Equity & Affirmative Action
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
337 Dempsey Hall

All the UWO employees listed below may be part of a Title IX reporting or grievance process. These employees are listed below in their respective teams; Title IX Compliance Team, the Title IX Deputies Team, and the Title IX Committee. UWO may also consult with UW System personnel, and they may assist in roles such as, investigators, informal resolution facilitators, or hearing examiners.

Title IX Compliance Team

While compliance with the law and campus safety is everyone’s shared responsibility at UWO, this team will have primary responsibility to ensure compliance with Title IX.

Shawna Kuether

Shawna Kuether

Associate Vice Chancellor

(920) 424-0283

kuethers@uwosh.edu

 

Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity, & Affirmative Action

Oshkosh Campus, Dempsey Hall 328

Sean Fay

Sean Fay

Director

(920) 424-0330

fays@uwosh.edu

 

Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity, & Affirmative Action

Oshkosh Campus, Dempsey Hall 337

Amy Andersen, M.S.E.

Amy Andersen, M.S.E.

Title IX Coordinator

(920) 424-0835

andersena@uwosh.edu

 

Human Resources, Equal Opportunity, Equity, & Affirmative Action

Oshkosh Campus, Dempsey Hall 337

Title IX Deputies

Title IX Deputies serve an integral function in supporting the work of the EOEAA Office among various constituencies and across campuses. Reports of sex discrimination, Title IX sexual harassment or non-Title IX sexual misconduct can be made directly to Title IX Deputies, who will connect students and employees with appropriate resources and the Title IX Coordinator.

STUDENTS: Title IX Deputies in the Dean of Students office will assist students with reports and formal complaints, facilitate supportive measures, serve as a resource for questions and concerns, and co-facilitate formal Title IX complaint and grievance processes. They will also help connect students with appropriate campus and community resources and support.

Patricia Schrader

Patricia Schrader

Senior Equal Opportunity Specialist

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

(920) 424-1536
schraderp@uwosh.edu

Office of HR/EOEAA, Dempsey 337

Carmen Faymonville, Ph.D.

Carmen Faymonville, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Chancellor Faculty & Academic Staff Affairs

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-0890
Email: faymonvc@uwosh.edu

Office of the Provost, Dempsey 335

Victoria Stimac

Victoria Stimac

Assistant Director Athletics, Senior Woman Administrator

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-1384
Email: stimacv@uwosh.edu

Athletics, Kolf Sports Center

Art Munin, Ph.D.

Art Munin, Ph.D.

Interim Vice Chancellor Student Affairs & Dean of Students

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: munina@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office, Dempsey 125

Buzz Bares, M.S.Ed.

Buzz Bares, M.S.Ed.

Acting Senior Associate Dean of Students

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: baresj@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office, Dempsey 125

Robert Babcock, M.S.

Robert Babcock, M.S.

Director of Residence Life

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-3212
Email: babcockr@uwosh.edu

Department of Residence Life

John Palmer, M.S.Ed.

John Palmer, M.S.Ed.

Acting Senior Associate Dean of Students

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: palmerj@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office, Dempsey 125

Kiersten Karlsen, M.S.Ed.

Kiersten Karlsen, M.S.Ed.

Associate Dean of Students

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: karlsenk@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office, Dempsey 125

Houa Xiong, M.S.

Houa Xiong, M.S.

Associate Dean of Students

Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Phone: (920) 424-3100
Email: xiongh@uwosh.edu

Dean of Students Office, Dempsey 125

Title IX Committee

The Title IX committee at UWO meets two times per year to discuss policy implementation and revision, assess the effectiveness of campus wide training and educational programming, identify and address campus climate issues, and provide guidance to the Title IX Coordinator.

Title IX Committee Membership
NAMETITLEE-MAILTELEPHONE
Amy AndersenTItle IX Coordinatorandersena@uwosh.edu(920) 424-0835
Robert BabcockDirector of Residence Lifebabcockr@uwosh.edu(920)424-3212
Joann (Buzz) BaresActing Senior Associate Dean of Studentsbaresj@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3100
Sandra CoxDirector, Counseling Centercoxs@uwosh.edu(920) 424-2061
Sean FayDirector, Equal Opportunity Equity & Affirmative Actionfays@uwosh.edu(920) 424-0330
Carmen FaymonvilleAssociate Vice Chancellor, Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs/ Deputy Title IX faymonvc@uwosh.edu(920) 424-0890
Damira GradyAssociate Vice Chancellor for Academic Support of Inclusive Excellence and Chief Diversity Officergradyd@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3080
Alicia JohnsonDirector of Women’s Centerjohnsoal@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3247
Kiersten KarlsenAssociate Dean of Studentskarlsenk@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3100
Shawna KuetherAssociate Vice Chancellor HR/EOEAAkuethers@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1166
Kurt LieboldChief, University Policeleiboldk@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1212
Art MuninInterim Vice Chancellor & Dean of Studentsmunina@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3100
John PalmerActing Senior Associate Dean of Studentspalmerj@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3100
Patricia SchraderSenior EEO Specialistschraderp@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1536
Gabrielle SchwartzSexual & Interpersonal Violence Prevention Coordinator/Victim Advocateschwartzg@uwosh.edu(920) 424-2024
Timber SmithVeteran’s Resource Coordinatorsmitht@uwosh.edu(920) 424-0704
Victoria StimacAssociate Director Athletics, Senior Women’s Administratorstimacv@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1034
Chris TarmannCaptain, University Policetarmannc@uwosh.edu(920) 424-1212
Houa XiongAssociate Dean of Studentsxiongh@uwosh.edu(920) 424-3100

Title IX Personnel Training Information

Office for Civil Rights 2020 New Regulations state the following:

  • Title IX personnel need to be unbiased and free from conflicts of interest.
  • Title IX personnel include the Title IX Coordinator, any investigator, any decision-maker, and any person who facilities an informal resolution.

All materials used to train Title IX personnel:

  • Must not rely on sex stereotypes.
  • Must promote impartial investigations and adjudications of formal complaints of sexual harassment.
  • Must be maintained by the school for at least 7 years.
  • Must be publicly available on the school’s website.

For the purpose of compliance with section 106.45 of the Title IX Final Rules, the UW System Title IX Coordinator, investigators, decision-makers and any person who facilitates an informal resolution process in Title IX compliance and practices are required to take the State University of New York (SUNY) training. You can view this training, here. (https://system.suny.edu/sci/postedtraining/)