Faculty and Staff


Greg Adler, Ph.D.

Ecologist
Email: adler@uwosh.edu
Office: HS45
Phone: (920) 424-3068
Research Interests: Tropical Ecology
Website

 

 

Photo of Dr. Stephen BentivengaStephen Bentivenga, Ph.D.

Mycologist
Email: bentiven@uwosh.edu
Office: HS111
Phone: (920) 424-7088
Research Interests: Mycology
 Website

Morgan Churchill, Ph.D.

Mammalogist
Email: churchim@uwosh.edu
Office: HS159
Phone: (920) 424-4622
Research Interests: Evolution and ecology of marine mammals
Website

 

 

Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

Animal Physiologist, Co-Chairman of the Department
Email: cooper@uwosh.edu
Office: HS153
Phone: (920) 424-7091
Research Interest: Animal ecological physiology, avian thermoregulation and energetics
Website

 

Photograph of Dr. David DilkesDavid Dilkes, Ph.D.

Paleontologist
Email: dilkes@uwosh.edu
Office: HS158
Phone: (920) 424-3074
Research Interests: Comparative & human anatomy, biology of early amphibians and reptiles,  evolution
Website

 

Lisa Dorn, Ph.D.

Evolution and Genetics
Email: dorn@uwosh.edu
Office: HS45
Phone: (920)424-3064
Research Interests:  Plant genetics and evolution
Website

 

Todd Kostman, Ph.D.

Plant Cell Biologist, Co-Chairman of the Department
Email: kostman@uwosh.edu
Office: HS156/142
Phone: (920) 424-1076
Research Interests: Calcium regulation in plants
Website

 

 

Courtney Kurtz, Ph.D.

Gut Immunologist
Email: kurtzc@uwosh.edu
Office: HS252/243
Phone: (920) 424-1076
Research Interests: Immunology, digestive physiology, hibernation physiology
Website

 

 

Jessica Lucas, Ph.D.

Email: lucasjr@uwosh.edu
Office: HS160/15
Phone: (920) 424-7085
Research Interests:
Website

 

 

Eric Matson, Ph.D.

Microbial Ecologist
Email: matsone@uwosh.edu
Office: Halsey 253
Phone: (920) 424-2077
Research Interests: Microbial Ecology

 

 

Colleen McDermott DVM, Ph.D.

Medical Microbiologist
Email: mcdermot@uwosh.edu
Office: HS154
Phone: (920) 424-7090
Research Interests: Microbial contamination of beaches, source tracking of microbial contamination, cyanobacterial toxins
Website

 

Dr. Misty McPheeElsbeth “Misty” McPhee, Ph.D.

Conservation Biology
Email: mcpheem@uwosh.edu
Office: 3448 Sage Hall
Phone: (920) 424-0644
Research Interests: Effects of captivity on behavior & morphology; effects of captive breeding on the success of reintroduction programs for endangered wildlife; behavioral response to novel environments
Website

 

Dana Merriman, Ph.D.

Neurophysiologist, Director of the Squirrel Colony
Email: merrimad@uwosh.edu
Office: HS249
Phone: (920) 424-3076
Research Interests: Physiology and cell biology of vertebrate CNS/retina in health and disease; hibernation physiology
Website

 

 

Photo of Dr. Michelle MichalskiShelly Michalski, MS, Ph.D.

Parasitologist
Email: michalsk@uwosh.edu
Office: HS152
Phone: (920) 424-7082
Research Interests: Gene expression in filarial nematodes that cause neglected tropical diseases, vector borne disease
Website

 

Robert Mitchell, Ph.D.

Entomologist
Email: mitchellr@uwosh.edu
Office: HS 33
Phone: (920) 424-0930
Research Interests: Entomology, chemical ecology, chemoreception
Website

 

Sabrina Mueller-Spitz, Ph.D.

Environmental Microbiologist
Email: muellesr@uwosh.edu
Office: HS151
Phone: (920) 424-1104
Research Interests: Microbial ecology, freshwater biofilms, nanotoxicology, quorum quenching
Website

 

Bob Pillsbury, Ph.D.

Aquatic Ecologist
Email: pillsbur@uwosh.edu
Office: HS41
Phone: (920) 424-3069
Research Interests: Wetland ecology, freshwater algae
Website

 

Teri Shors, Ph.D.

Virologist
Email: shors@uwosh.edu
Office: HS155
Phone: (920) 424-7083
Research Interests:  Virology, poxviruses and environmental virology
Website

 

 

Bob Stelzer, Ph.D.

Aquatic Ecology
Email: stelzer@uwosh.edu
Office: HS150
Phone: (920) 424-0845
Research Interests: Nutrient flux and cycling in streams, roles of species in freshwater ecosystems, lake and stream food webs
Website

 

Department Staff

Sara Hagedorn

Animal Facility Manager
Email: 
hagedorns@uwosh.edu
Office: HS35
Phone: (920) 424-0931

 

 

 

Photo of Kelly LippertKelly Lippert

University Services Associate
Email:
 dibblek@uwosh.edu
Office: HS142
Phone: (920) 424-7079

 

 

 

Photo of Tom PerzentkaTom Perzentka

Stockroom Manager
Email:
 perzentk@uwosh.edu
Office: HS135
Phone: (920) 424-1084

 

 

 

 

Melissa Starr

Academic Department Associate
Email
starrm@uwosh.edu
Office: HS142
Phone: (920) 424-1102

 

 

 

Wendy Stelzer

Laboratory Assistant
Email:
 stelzerw@uwosh.edu
Office: HS172
Phone: (920) 424-3397

 

 

 

Academic Staff

Andrew Bosma

Email: bosmaa@uwosh.edu
Office: HS39
Phone: (920)424-1102

 

 

 

Shannon Davis-Foust

Email: davisfos@uwosh.edu
Office: HS255
Phone: (920) 424-1102

 

 

Sonja Jeter

Email: jeters@uwosh.edu
Office: HS256
Phone: (920) 424-3490

 

 

 

 

Katrina Olsen

Email: olsenk10@uwosh.edu
Office: HS44
Phone: (920) 424-1102

 

 

 

Brad Spanbauer

Emailspanbauerb@uwosh.edu
Office: HS36
Phone: (920) 424-1044

 

 

 

Vicki Van Deurzen

Email: verbrick@uwosh.edu
Office: HS170
Phone: (920) 424-3397

 

 

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. H. Gene DrecktrahH. Gene Drecktrah

Email: drecktra@uwosh.edu
Office: HS54
Phone: (920) 424-3072

 

 

 

Neil Harriman

Email: harriman@uwosh.edu
Office: HS9B
Phone: (920) 424-1002

 

 

Photo of Dr. Toivo KallasToivo Kallas, Ph.D.

Microbiologist and Protein Biochemist
Email: kallas@uwosh.edu
Office: HS245
Phone: (920) 424-7084
Research Interests:  Molecular genetics and biochemistry of electron transport mechanisms, redox-signaling and oxygen radicals in microalgae
Website

Thomas Lammers, Ph.D.

Plant Taxonomist, Curator of the Herbarium
Email: lammers@uwosh.edu
Office: HS9C
Phone: (920) 424-1002
Research Interests: Classification and evolution of the flowering plant family Campanulaceae
Website

Bob Wise, Ph.D.

Plant Physiologist
Email: wise@uwosh.edu
Office: HS16
Phone: (920) 424-3404
Research Interests:  Plant stress physiology and ultrastructure
Website